Holy crackamoley Batman! I just know how to use escape keys in OpenSSH!

Few minutes ago I just found out that I can actually send SSH session into background by suspending it. From now on I can use one terminal for everything I need.

How is it done? That sneaky escape_char is the key. A quick glance at the ssh manual should explain you all about it, but I found it hard to practice; I just can’t understand what “The escape character is only recognized at the beginning of a line” is supposed to mean.

I mean I know that sentence in English, duh, but what the heck is this “at the beginning of a line” is all about? Are we talking about the shell prompt here or what, Vim? I recall that every time I send a command it occupy its own line, is this a trick to confuse newbie? Even though I know that you CAN type multiple-line commands, but that is not what I’m concerned about.

I tried to type ‘~?’ literally, but that didn’t work. As I just found out (by bashing my keyboard like a space chimps) “the beginning of a line” mentioned here is to put empty command before entering ~. So all I have to do in my terminal is this:

$ < press Return / Enter >
$ < just press key combination to '~', which in my case Shift + ` >

It will be easier that way especially because I’m accustomed to reuse commands from history, walking through the command each character/word at a time, or plain-ol’ Ctrl + C.

For practice purpose I recommend you to try the ~? command. It will print the other available commands, lookup the manual to find out more.

All this time… can you imagine that??

Leave a comment

Filed under Ilmu, Orang bego punya kegiatan

Leave a Reply

