Wait, Iz Dat Arch Linux?

Got my first Arch Linux installed yesterday, a somewhat different experience for a guy used to Debian, but basically it’s all the same.

I’m bored, please entertain me with your Arch Linux endeavor

In general I spent most of the time preparing for the installation, while the installation itself took less than an hour.

Preparation before the install took 3 hours or so. The mirroring partitions off to a remote computer over 1Gb ethernet connection went about 90 minutes, coupled with partition table preparations (moving partitions, resizing, and formatting a dedicated /boot partition) took the other half of it.

Downloading the very basic stuffs compromising a modern Linux desktop is much tolerable when using a mirror nearby —that is, using local connection.

After that, all I have is a working system and ready to reboot, right? Well unfortunately, no.

So, that bastard gave you a hard time then?

In a way, yes. I swear this feels like the installer itself set up a challenge for me to solve before I can join with the *supposedly* elites being Arch Linux user.

The problem was GRUB throwing me this Error 15: File not found thing. Like any rookie, I hit the internet immediately. After browsing many support forums and mailing list, I developed a sense of what was wrong, and set to fix the damn problem.

First, I think it would be better to upgrade it to GRUB2 anyway. So I did just that by chrooting to my new system and made GRUB obsolete in one command:

pacman -S grub2-bios

after that I make sure it work this time by asking it to re-probe and rewrite the old bootloader:

grub-install --recheck /dev/sda

Of course the /dev/sda if for my SATA harddrive. If you are reading this to know how to fix your own problem, make sure to change that to whatever disk you are installing GRUB to.

But after that it’s all roses and ponies, right?

Sort of … well, kindda yes. Everything works, yes that’s a good thing. At that point I just have to install what I wants, and embracing how things work in the Arch Linux.

I mean the first thing that strikes me is this rc.conf file. I kindda like it, in Debian there are many files to edit, but in Arch Linux you just have to edit only one file for modules blacklisting, hostname, locale, daemon startups, network-configuration definition.

Of course being a KDE user myself, the next thing I do is to install KDE:

pacman -S kdebase-workspace


along with many interesting programs, including the non-vetted AUR builds.

So you are not a Debian guy anymore huh?

I am a Debian user, just not on my desktop computer. My server computer still running Debian, in fact I just did a stable-upgrade after Debian 6.0 came out. The stability side of Debian is still the best among Linux distributions in my book.

On the other side, for my day-to-day computer where I can tinker with it I chose to live on-the-edge and go with Arch Linux. 😀

1 Comment

Filed under Ilmu, Orang bego punya kegiatan, Pendapat gak penting

One response to “Wait, Iz Dat Arch Linux?

  1. pankromatic

    I am a debian user also, and did my Arch install within the last two months or so. (I have Debian 6 on desktops, laptops and Lenny on a server.)

    On Arch, I got XFCE running quickly, and have been pretty happy with it.

    With Arch, I really feel like I can understand what the os is doing. I don’t get that feeling so much with Debian. I really make it a point to backup this hard drive regularly because I don’t feel good enough to be able to fix things if they go badly.

    You mentioned trouble with grub… I stayed with legacy grub because that is what Gentoo used, which is also on the hd. I did not install a loader in Arch, instead, boot into Gentoo, edit my grub.conf file for the new Arch kernel, and update. To me, the new grub is way, way too complicated. The old grub works for me, at least for Arch and Gentoo.

    Keep up the good work.
    steve.

Leave a Reply

